Dan Barry: Good Writer (Really Good Writer)

Dan Barry has been cited over the last week, first for his story of the Boston parish getting up to speed for an important funeral on Saturday, and then on Sunday his account of the funeral (in which he actually used the words Holy Communion on the front page of the NYT).But today, he has this. Fans of Dan, and I am one, should read it, and it wouldn't hurt the rest of you. (Let me also plug his book, Pull Me Up, an amazing story of his chilhood and beyond.)Today this: My Brain on Chemo: Alive and Alerthttp://www.nytimes.com/2009/09/01/health/01case.html?_r=2&scp=4&sq=dan%20barry&st=cse

Margaret O'Brien Steinfels, a former editor of Commonweal, writes frequently in these pages.

Also by this author
Honoring the Dead

Please email comments to letters@commonwealmagazine.org and join the conversation on our Facebook page.

Must Reads

Religion
Culture
Culture
Books
Books
Collections
Collections