Buried Treasure

Miles, Live

Miles Davis Quintet
Live in Europe 1969
The Bootleg Series Vol. 2
Sony—Legacy Records, $49.98


When it comes to musical rediscovery, this is nothing less than a golden age. Consider the treasures unearthed in the past few years alone. Pop fans have been rewarded with the release of the Beach Boys’ legendary, unreleased ...

The remainder of this article is only available to paid subscribers.

Print subscribers to Commonweal are entitled to free access to all premium online content. Click here to purchase a print subscription, or if you’re already a print subscriber, register now for premium access.

Online-only subscriptions provide access to all premium online articles for just $34/year or $2.95/month. Click here to subscribe.

Registered users, please log in below:

Or log in with...


About the Author

Steve Futterman has written about jazz for The New York Times, The Washington Post, and Rolling Stone and for the past two decades has contributed the weekly "Jazz and Standards" listings for the New Yorker.